football

Courtside with: Shawnee Mission East

Z4pfjpinghjtr04shyru
Gxz95rpkbsqddyy4rft2
Overview
Shawnee Mission East Lancers
Tacnaz8qz4nrvtrb6mn8
Vance Wentz has signed with Division I Monana State
Vtda5ycfypljul2mbinc
Returning Players
Projected Starters:
Anwfmzavulrdxvo9mkrk
Top Returning Prospects and Newcomers
Rmg5bnm3tawhrdhkl2sm
Shoes to Fill
As many players as they have coming back including four starters, the Lancers lost four seniors who saw a lot of time last season in Alex Schoegler, Andy Hiett, Henry Simpson, and Chris Heady.
The team does turn four starters including senior Zach Schneider who at 6-foot-7 averaged 14 points and six bounds as a third team all-Sunflower League player a year ago and
Vance Wentz, who at 15 points four bounds and two assists was second team all-Sunflower and honorable mention a year ago. Vance has signed with Division I Montana State.
Two other starters turn in Chase Hanna who averaged six points and two assists as well as Billy Sutherland their six-foot-five senior center who averaged five points and five boards. The other senior letter winners turn including six-foot-eight Chris Tuttle at center.
Must Step Up
A lot of senior experience turns, as well as a lot of height but two players who could make a diffence if they step it up would be senior Chris Tuttle and sophomo Lucas Jones both of whom have the height to make this one of the tallest teams in the state overall.
Joey Wentz, a fshman brother to Vance at six-foot-four could be the player of the futu along with the sophomo Jones.
Team Analysis in the coaches words: A description of the Lancers, our stngths and weaknesses.
Our key to a successful season.
This year, we must play gat team defense and bound the ball very well. We turn 7 letter winners who all have some starting experience. We turn our top 2 scors in Wentz and Schneider, and we have some guys who can ally shoot the ball. We must also value the ball on offense, get gat team shots, and emphasize playing inside out. We must compete at both ends of the floor and our seniors; (all 10 of them) need to provide gat leadership. This team has the ability to do some good things, but must challenge themselves every night to leave all out on the floor.
name="Outlook">
Season Pdiction Pdicted order of finish in the confence minus coach Hair's own team
1 Olathe East
2 Olathe South
3 SM South
4 Leavenworth
5 Lawnce
6 SM West
7 Lawnce Fe State
8 Olathe Northwest
9 Olathe North
10 SM Northwest
11 SM North
Players whom Coach Hair can make an impact in Kansas this year:
Name School
Joey Lillis BV West
Scott Edwards BV North
Noah Knight Olathe South
Ezra Talbert Olathe East
Clayton Custer BV Northwest
Conner Frankamp Wichita North
Zach Schneider SM East
Semi Ogeleye Ottawa
Vance Wentz SM East
Schedule
Day Date Opponent
Thursday Dec. 6 SME Boys Basketball Tourney
Friday Dec. 7 SME Boys Basketball Tourney
Saturday Dec. 8 SME Boys Basketball Tourney
Tuesday Dec. 11 Harrisonville
Saturday Dec. 15 (HyVee) vs. TBD
Friday Jan. 4 Leavenworth
Tuesday Jan. 8 Olathe North
Friday Jan. 11 SMW
Thursday Jan. 17 TBD @ McPherson Tourney McPherson
Friday Jan. 18 TBD @ McPherson Tourney McPherson
Saturday Jan. 19 TBD @ McPherson Tourney McPherson
Friday Jan. 25 Rockhurst
Tuesday Jan. 29 Olathe Northwest
Friday Feb. 1 Lawnce
Tuesday Feb. 5 Olathe South
Friday Feb. 8 SMNW
Tuesday Feb. 12 Olathe East
Friday Feb. 15 SMN
Tuesday Feb. 19 Lawnce Fe State
Friday Feb. 22 SMS
Wednesday Feb. 27 Sub-State
Friday March 1 Sub-State
Wed, Fri-Sat March 6,8,9 State Tournament
Edit